Track & Field -


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Track & Field

Long Beach State Men, Cal Poly Women On Top In Track & Field Championship

Links associated with this release:
2018 Track and Field Championship Page



Friday Results – Men
  |  Friday Results – Women

Through seven scored events, the Long Beach State men and Cal Poly women are sitting in first place following Friday’s Big West Track and Field Championships at the CSUN Track and Field Complex.

LBSU scored 56.5 points, with a slight edge over second place Cal Poly (49) and UC Davis (48).  CSUN is fourth with 38 points, followed by Cal State Fullerton (33), UC Santa Barbara (26.5), UC Riverside (18) and UC Irvine (4).

The Beach are seeking their fifth men’s title in six years.

Cal Poly is in the lead on the women’s side with 53 points.  UC Davis is in second with 40 points, while UC Riverside is third with 39.  Cal State Fullerton has 35 points for fourth place, and UC Santa Barbara is in fifth (32).  Rounding out the standings are CSUN (24), Hawai‘i and Long Beach State with 18 points apiece, and UC Irvine (14).

The Mustangs are seeking their first women’s title since beginning competition in the Big West in 1997.

FOX Sports Prime Ticket will provide a live telecast of Saturday’s competition at the CSUN Track & Field Complex beginning at 2:00 p.m.  Coverage will begin with the 4x100 women’s relay final.

Two individuals became three-time champions in their respective events.

Long Beach State junior Kemonie Briggs won the long jump for the third straight year.  He is the second individual in Big West history to accomplish the feat, joining UC Riverside’s Ted Hooper (2012-14).  He posted a winning leap of 26-00.00.  It was his fourth career jump of 26 feet or better.

UC Davis junior Kyle Clancy captured gold in the high jump for the third time in his career.  He is the fifth person to win that event three times, and the first since UC Santa Barbara’s Mitchell Haag (2011-13).  Clancy won with a clearance of 6 feet, 9 inches.

A trio of standouts won an event for the second time in their careers.

UC Riverside senior Taylor Fleming, the women’s long jump winner in 2016, claimed gold again as she posted a mark of 20-03.75.

Fellow senior and Highlander teammate Weslie Pearce notched her second straight event win in the women’s 3,000 meter steeplechase.  Pearce clocked 10:32.94.

Cal Poly senior Swarnjit Boyal secured his second straight first place finish in the men’s 10,000 meters, covering the distance in 33:57.69.  The Mustangs had all top four runners – and the sixth and seventh place finishers – to collect a whopping 34 points from one race and vault into second place behind LBSU.

Other winners on Friday included the following:

• CSUN junior Erick Loomis, the school record holder in the men’s hammer, threw a distance of 210 feet, 3 inches to give the Matadors one of their two wins on the day.

• The other Matador to stand atop the podium was sophomore Clint Meyer, who won the men’s shot put with a toss of 60-01.75.

• Cal State Fullerton junior Nicole Clark became the first individual in school history to win the women’s javelin competition.  She had a winning mark of 151-02.

• Cal Poly freshman Brooke Tjerrild has led the Big West all year in the women’s pole vault.  She maintained that position at the conference meet, winning a jump off with former champion Gardenia Centenaro of CSUN.  Tjerrild won with her mark of 13-01.50.

• UC Irvine junior Barbara Coward was the fourth Anteater in school history to claim gold in the women’s discus, winning with a throw of 167-07.

• Cal Poly junior Sean McDermott provided the powerful Mustang distance group another 10 points with his first place finish in the men’s 3,000-meter steeplechase (9:02.96).

• UC Davis sophomore Sarah Anderson earned the win the women’s 10,000 meters in 36:54.22.

Fourteen more events on both sides will be scored on Saturday.  The Long Beach State women finished first in the prelims in several events – Anaya Alexander (400 meters), Shalee Reynolds (400 meter hurdles) and Courtne’ Davis (200 meters).