Home Page - bigwest.org


Gear Boss by Wenger Arroyo Trabuco goteamimpact.org Hotel Planner Wooden Legacy
Big West Info

11 Big West Student-Athletes Nominated for NCAA Woman of the Year


Eleven student-athletes representing eight Big West institutions are among the nominees for NCAA Woman of the Year.

NCAA Woman of the Year Nominees Release

Eleven Big West Conference student-athletes representing eight institutions have been nominated for the 2018 NCAA Woman of the Year Award, as announced by the NCAA.

The institutional nominees are part of a record 581 athletes submitted for the award, which honors graduating female college athletes who have exhausted their eligibility and distinguished themselves in academics, athletics, service and leadership throughout their collegiate careers.

Sydney Haynes CSU Bakersfield Beach Volleyball
Mikaela Francis Cal State Fullerton Softball
Monique Griffiths CSUN Track & Field
Nele Barber Long Beach State Beach Volleyball
Rachel Nieto Long Beach State Indoor Volleyball, Beach Volleyball
Greta Kohlmoos UC Davis Water Polo
Avery French UC Irvine Golf
Allison Loomis UC Irvine Water Polo
Taylor Brown UC Riverside Track & Field
Clare-Marie Anderson Hawai'i Indoor Volleyball, Beach Volleyball
Chloe Barr Hawai'i Water Polo

The conference nominees competed in six different sports, and include among them:

  • Two All-Americans.
  • Seven All-Big West selections.
  • Three Big West Scholar-Athletes of the Year.
  • One Big West record holder.
  • One Big West Player of the Year.
  • An NCAA Elite 90 honoree.
  • A Nobel Peace Scholar.
Conferences will now select up to two nominees from the institutional pool and forward them to the Woman of the Year selection committee. Comprised of representatives from the NCAA membership, the committee then chooses the Top 30 honorees - 10 from each division.

In September, three finalists from each division will be named. The NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics will select the Woman of the Year from those finalists. The Top 30 honorees and the 2018 Woman of the Year will be celebrated October 28 at the annual award ceremony in Indianapolis.